St Jerome

Before he was known as Saint Jerome, he was named Eusebius Sophronius Hieronymus. He was born around 342 AD, in Stridon, Dalmatia, likely in Croatia or Slovenia today. Bonosus, a friend of Jerome persuaded him to become a Christian and in 366, he was baptized by Pope Liberius.

In 370 AD Jerome joined a monastery at Aquileia, overseen by Bishop St. Valerian, who had attracted some of the greatest minds in Christendom. While in Aquileia, Jerome met Rufinus a monk who was renowned as a translator of Greek and Latin, which is how Jerome became a skilled translator from Greek and Hebrew into Latin.

Jerome traveled to Antioch and there that He was persuaded by the Church of Antioch and Pope Damasus I to be ordained as a priest even though he wanted to remain a monk and a scholar. He then traveled to Constantinople where he studied under St. Gregory of Nazianzus, who was renown as a great theologian. Eventually he traveled to Rome for a council of the Church in 382 A.D. and met Pope St Damasus I, when he was made his secretary. It was then that Jerome was asked by Pope St Damasus I to translate the entire Old and New Testaments into Latin Vulgate, which he continued to complete throughout the rest of his life. It was the first complete "Bible" as we know it today.

Jerome traveled back to Antioch, down to Jerusalem, over into Alexandria, Egypt and finally settled in Bethlehem where he had a monastery built. During this time, he met and communicated regularly with the great St Augustine.

The next few decades proved stressful to all Christians throughout the entire Roman Empire as there was many battles surrounding the empire.

Jerome died on September 30, 420. He was laid to rest under the Church of the Nativity. His remains were later transferred to Rome.

Saint Jerome is the patron saint of Biblical scholars, archaeologists, librarians, students and translators. He was one of the greatest saints of the Church. Jerome's original Latin Vulgate of the entire canon scriptures are what the present day, Douay Rheims Version was used to translate into English and many other languages throughout the world.

Jerome's original translation included the "Deuterocanonical writings" of the seven books of the original Hebrew Old Testament. They were included in the canon of scripture from the 4th century up to when they were translated into English in the 16th century. These books were eventually removed from subsequent translations after the Protestant Revolution began. This is why there are only 66 books in the Protestant Bibles today. Protestants the added, removed and changed words and meanings of various verses of the canon of scripture since the apostles completed the New Testament.

Today Traditional Catholics use only the Douay Rheims translation directly from Jerome's Latin Vulgate of the 4th century which was the very first complete 73 books of the Bible.

THE DEUTEROCANONICAL WRITINGS

Deutero-canonical (from Greek deuteros meaning "second"; thus, second canon) Why second canon?

The Language of the Old Testament was originally written in Hebrew and in Jesus's time it was translated into Greek, the Septuagint version, from which Jesus quoted. That was the first canon or original Old Testament.

When the Gospels and epistles of the apostles began to be written, they were not yet considered part of sacred inspired "canon" writings; not until Christ authorized them. How did Christ authorize them since He was crucified before they were written? Christ gave St. Peter the keys of His kingdom and transferred all authority on earth to Peter including what was to be considered canon for all the faithful to follow His words. This authority was passed on to St. Peter's successors, the Popes of the Roman Church.

At the Council of Rome in 382, with the great theologians, saints and doctors of the Church present, including Pope St Damasus I presiding, the Church canonized (decided on which books were to be considered direct revelation from God, including the original 46 Old Testament books (books of Moses and the prophets), <u>including 7 deuterocanonical books</u>, and the 27 New Testament books of gospel and epistles of the apostles.

These books were later ratified by subsequent councils at Hippo (393), Carthage (397, 419), II Nicaea (787), Florence (1442), and finally the Council of Trent (1546).

These "deuterocanonical" books were included in almost every Bible until the Edinburgh Committee of the British Foreign Bible Society excised them in 1825. It is historically demonstrable that Catholics did not add the books: rather, *Protestants took them out*.

Deuteronomy 4:2

"You shall not add to the word that I speak to you, neither shall you take away from it: keep the commandments of the Lord your God which I command you."

St. Jerome recognized and submitted to the ultimate authority of the Church after Christ, St. Peter as well as his successors to authorize which books were to be included in God's Holy Canon scripture; "the Bible".

St. Augustine wrote, "We have no other assurance that the books of Moses, the four Gospels, and the other books are the true word of God, but by the canon of the Holy Catholic Church."

St. Jerome's complete Latin Vulgate Bible, now the Douay Rheims Bible also includes:

- 1. Tobit
- 2. Judith
- 3. Additions to Esther (Vulgate Esther 10:4-16:24)
- 4. Wisdom
- 5. Ben Sira, also called Sirach or Ecclesiasticus
- 6. Baruch, including the Letter of Jeremiah (Additions to Jeremiah in the Septuagint
- 7. Additions to Daniel:
 - Song of the Three Children (Vulgate Daniel 3:24-90)
 - Story of Susanna (Vulgate Daniel 13, Septuagint prologue)
 - The Idol Bel and the Dragon (Vulgate Daniel 14, Septuagint epilogue)